Ed Sheeran Announces New Album '-', Final In Mathematical Era

Ed Sheeran Announces New Album '-', Final In Mathematical Era

Ed Sheeran has announced his new album - (Subtract)!

The 32-year-old musician revealed the final album in his mathematical era, following the releases of +, ×, ÷ and =.

Ed revealed that he wrote hundreds of songs trying to get to the perfect album, going back to his singer / songwriter roots. The album will take a look at personal grief and hope.

While announcing the album, he opened up about his best friend dying and his wife being diagnosed with a tumor.

See what he said inside…

“I had been working on Subtract for a decade, trying to sculpt the perfect acoustic album, writing and recording hundreds of songs with a clear vision of what I thought it should be. Then at the start of 2022, a series of events changed my life, my mental health, and ultimately the way I viewed music and art,” Ed shared.

“Writing songs is my therapy. It helps me make sense of my feelings. I wrote without thought of what the songs would be, I just wrote whatever tumbled out. And in just over a week, I replaced a decade’s worth of work with my deepest darkest thoughts,” he continued.

“Within the space of a month, my pregnant wife got told she had a tumour, with no route to treatment until after the birth. My best friend Jamal, a brother to me, died suddenly and I found myself standing in court defending my integrity and career as a songwriter. I was spiralling through fear, depression and anxiety.”

“I felt like I was drowning, head below the surface, looking up but not being able to break through for air,” Ed said.

“As an artist I didn’t feel like I could credibly put a body of work into the world that didn’t accurately represent where I am and how I need to express myself at this point in my life. This album is purely that. It’s opening the trapdoor into my soul. For the first time I’m not trying to craft an album people will like, I’m merely putting something out that’s honest and true to where I am in my adult life.”

This is last February’s diary entry and my way of making sense of it. This is Subtract.”

Ed worked with Aaron Dessner on the upcoming album, after being introduced by friend Taylor Swift. They began crafting the album in February 2022, and it will release this May with 14 tracks, featuring folk-leaning sounds and also full-band/orchestral arrangements.

Subtract will be out on May 5th. Check out the tracklist below…

1. Boat
2. Salt Water
3. Eyes Closed
4. Life Goes On
5. Dusty
6. End Of Youth
7. Colourblind
8. Curtains
9. Borderline
10. Spark
11. Vega
12. Sycamore
13. No Strings
14. The Hills of Aberfeldy

Like Just Jared Jr. on FB
Photos: Getty
Posted to: Ed Sheeran, Music